At the beginning of the fourth week of class, we were going to take the limits test. That was originally supposed to be on Monday, however it was pushed to Tuesday on account of the quiz scores from the previous week. I don't think I really needed the extra day. I got 19 out of 20 on the quiz, and as far as I know, I understood the concept fairly well. That being said, I have not gotten my score for the test on Tuesday yet, so maybe I shouldn't say I fully understood the concept yet, but I think I did pretty well on the test. After the test on Wednesday, we moved into derivatives. We haven't formally defined derivatives yet, but word on the street is that a derivative is the slope of a point. I'm not sure yet how exactly that will work in execution, but I imagine that it will expand on the limits we learned last chapter. You opened the unit by asking "What does it mean to be going 58 miles per hour at 2:03 pm?" I understand that it is impossible to actually determine what that means. I also understand that you can only get very very close to the actual meaning, never actually approaching it using limits. I'll leave you with a picture of a car.




Leave a Reply.