Literature.

Picture
    As this is an AP Literature and Composition class, it is to be expected that there will be a heavy focus on literature. As a class, we spent a considerable portion of this week determining between the two. We read articles and we debated in class. We read short stories and analyzed individual sections for literary promise. We defined the opposite of literature as commercial fiction. I came to the conclusion that the definition literature is a hotly debated subject within the language arts world. I believe that the definition is subjective. Something that I would consider to be literature, might not be considered as such by everyone in the world. Conversely, something I would consider to be literature, might be held in that regard by another person. Neither of us would be wrong, its just a difference of opinion. The difference between a Democrat and a Republican or a Federalist and an Anti-Federalist.
    This week, we also did several group discussions pertaining to our summer reading assignments. It was very interesting to hear what my peers had to say about the books I had read. It opened me up to thinking about the books in a manner that I had not yet thought of. They introduced me to their ideas, and I hope I successfully introduced them to a few of mine.
    Also this week, was the introduction of the PoW, which as far as I know is an acronym for "Poem of the Week" not "Prisoner of War." We examined the poem "The Eagle" by Alfred Lord Tennyson. Though it did not go through my head at the time I read it, now the only thing I can think about when I think about the poem, is the scene in Scrubs, photo attached.

Andy Schoenborn
9/22/2013 10:48:11 am

Hi Kiegan,

This post does a nice job of sharing what you've learned during week two. Keep in mind that even though there isn't an answer to Lit. v. Comm. fiction the debate will continue, because of the logical arguments made on both sides. In the end, it's more about perspective than opinion.

Reply



Leave a Reply.